There is something about Vatle

Posted: December 1, 2010 in Norwegian, videos
Tags: , , ,

Maybe it is the atmosphere, the excitement of the people crowded around the runway at her catwalk shows, the attitude of the models, or maybe it is something about the passionate design of the clothes created by Kjersti Vatle Toresen that commands attention. It seems to me that this is a Norwegian designer who is going places.

Kjersti got back to me today with some answers I posed to her via e-mail. She says that her brand is “for the people who dare to be their self. It’s a combination of avant garde and expressive pieces with character. The label Vatle Designs will be presented on the European market next season.

SF: Do you have any new projects or collaborations under way?
I’m working with different Norwegian artists, I love making pop fashion for pop artists. I just had a collaboration with Norway’s Mariann Rosa and Fretex. I love Mariann’s style and its nice to do something with value and help others as in working with Fretex.

At the moment I´m working with a new collection. The new thing this season, is that I`ll add menswear. I´m very excited about it! We´ll launch a new sub-brand called “VATLE + NANZALA” which is jewelry made by me and my partner Eunice Nanzala. (Note: Eunice makes all of the cool hats, shoes, and headpieces used in Vatle’s shows)

SF: Where can people buy your stuff?
Flashdance at Posthallen, Oslo and very soon at Cosmo Beauty, Oslo. It´s also possible to order from the VATLE studio by mail. Online shop will launch as soon as possible.
I also take orders and make clothes made by measure.

SF: Ambitions or dreams?My ambition is to be able to work as a professional designer and present collections at the big fashion weeks in Paris and New York. And off course to make artistic innovative collections.” that always has an expression.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

Leave a Reply

