One chapter in the life of Lamija Suljevic

Posted: November 24, 2010 in Cool photos, Fashion Photography
Tags: , , ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This striking collection by Stockholm-based fashion designer Lamija Suljevic was part of a group-show curated earlier this year by Diane Pernet at Markt Gallery in New York City.

I’ve known uber-blogger and style guru Diane Pernet for years, ever since we were both regular contributors to the fabulous, now deceased Dutch magazine. More recently, Diane founded “A Shaded View on Fashion Film,” Paris’s first annual fashion film festival. This is just a long way of saying that if Diane Pernet likes Lamija Suljevic; that is a pretty good stamp of approval in my book.

Ms. Suljevic’s designs been published in magazines such as ELLE Sweden, ELLE UK, Zink and Dealer Deluxe.

“The collection doesn’t go under any name, for me it’s more about chapters,” Lamija Suljevic tells Scandinavian Fashion. “The F/W collection is about my childhood. I was born in Bosnia and came to Sweden when I was five years old because of the war. We never spoke about this during my childhood and I think this was my way of dealing with everything that has happened. I used old handmade techniques, also crochet since my mother taught me to knit and crochet at a very early age.”

Lamija creates one-of-a-kind clothing for customers in her Stockholm studio: “When I work for customers I do pieces from my collection, but sometimes also something totally different.”

Judging from the images presented above, I would say that Lamija Suljevic probably always does something original and totally different. Emma Jönsson Dysell of New Blood Agency took the photos, with styling by Tekla Knaust. Nina Belkhir did hair and make-up on the the model Olivia R.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

Leave a Reply

